Getting into PR by Sarah Stimson

Many of you know, I am now a third year student who is studying Journalism and Media and Communications. As a third year I am faced with the daunting task of trying to find a job, within Public Relations, for next year. This is a task I have found both over-whelming and confusing at times, so when tutor told me about a new book all about getting a job within PR I jumped at the chance to read it.

How to get a job in PR is written by Sarah Stimson, who has worked within recruitment and training for over a decade and now works with the Taylor Bennett Foundation. If anyone knows how to get into the PR industry it’s her.

The book consist of 37 short chapter, including what is PR, Using social media to get a job and the 25 don’ts of PR. The book goes over the basic information perfect for people just learning, or looking to learn about Public Relations and goes onto to talk about getting a job and how to ask for a pay rise for people looking to work in PR. It even looks at taking a career break and how to resign for when you have managed to get your job.

The layout of the book makes it easy to read all in one go or to quickly look up information of interest. Each chapter has an explanation by Sarah along with a number of industry professionals giving their thoughts on each of the topics, meaning that you can hear what the professionals real think, and make your own mind up.

The wonderfully funny and conversational tone of the book makes reading it easy and enjoyable. Where else can you read “If you want you parents to proudly declare, “my daughter is a PR consultant” and for the rest of the dinner table to go ‘Oooo’ my son wanted to ho into PR but settled for being a vet instead, then your going to be sorely disappointed.”

This book has already helped me concentrate on what I need to do to get a job next year, and what sector I want it to be in. I can see this easily being my PR job bible for the next few months and even once I have a job. I would recommend this book to anyone who is hoping to get into the PR industry or is studying PR.

This book was kindly gifted to me by Sarah for an honest view, Thank you to Sarah and everyone involved in this book for finally giving PR students a helping hand to get into the industry.

You can buy the book from amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00GX9DXVA/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

One thought on “Getting into PR by Sarah Stimson

Leave a Reply

