How to survive a long distance relationship- at uni.

When I came to university in my first year, in fact in my first week, I met a guy and very quickly we started dating. This was great, however when the holidays came we were nearly 100 miles apart. This year he has taken a year in work, while I am in my final year at university, this means we are no longer together at uni either.

Image

My long distance relationship- When we first met!

So I thought I would share my tips on how to survive a long distance relationship.

1. Do things together.

I know this seems stupid, your miles apart and you can’t do things together, but you can. Watch one of your favorite tv shows while on the phone to each other. Being able to watch something at the same time, and talk about what is going on makes it feel more like you are together.

2. Make sure you have a plan.

This one comes from my housemate, Abi, and I 100% agree with her. Make sure you have a plan of when you can next see each other. If you know that its only 3 weeks until you can be together again it makes saying goodbye all that much easier.

3. Do something special.

Whenever my boyfriend and I get together we try and make it special so we will go out for a meal or go on a date night. It means that you have a memory of the time you spent together rather than spending your precious time just sat in your bedroom.

4. Talk.

Talk about everything, have you had a bad day? Do you miss each other? The simple things like that can be wonderful to hear when your apart but you also need to talk about the difficult things. How will the relationship work long distance? Are you struggling or always arguing? You need to confide in each other.

5. Skype.

If your boyfriend doesn’t live in the middle of no-where with shockingly bad internet conenction then you may want to download Skype. The Video software allows you to see and talk to each other with the use of your webcams. I have known couples who talk to each other via Skype while doing uni work or on in the background for long periods of time.

6. 101 Questions

When you run out of things to say, this happens when everyday is ‘wrote more of my essay’ then ask each other questions. This website has 100 questions to ask each other http://www.everydaybetterliving.com/love_danger_signs/100_questions.html   great for when you cant think of what to say, and you could learn more about your relationship.

7.Gifts.

This isn’t something you have to do by any stretch of the imagination, but imagine if you were stressed about your assignment and a bunch of flowers turned up at your door. Or even a pizza!!

One of my friends has a boyfriend who will read through her work, make her dinner and look after her when she is stressed. This is harder when you are far apart but a little token to show you care can mean all the difference.

8. Make good friends.

I know you expected all of this list to be about your partner but some of the best ways to survive a long distance relationship is to have amazing friends. You need people who you can go to when your upset, angry or just a bit frustrated with life. Your friends will help you become happy and excited about the smallest things. My friends are amazing and we help each other through every stress and strain of a LDR.

9.Let your self be upset.

It’s ok to become upset by the little things. On the second night of freshers this year I ended up in floods of tears for the whole night for no reason what so ever apart from that I was getting used to uni without him. The next day I was fine!

10. Just relax.

Although being in a long distance relationship can be difficult and I don’t think that you should go into it lightly without talking through your parameters and thoughts behind your relationship. When your in the relationship you need to relax a little. Don’t panic over every little thing, if your meant to be together you will be, if not then you know it.

Are you in a long distance relationship?   What are your tips for coping.

4 thoughts on “How to survive a long distance relationship- at uni.

    • I know I thought they were brilliant! I had to include them. I’ve asked “what did you think before we kissed for the first time” His reply “I was drunk so nothing” wasn’t quiet the romance I was going for! Some of them are just weird!!

Leave a Reply

