6 top tips for moving into a student house

I can’t believe that it is time to start packing up the boxes and heading back to university already! I’ve barely unpacked. I thought I would share a few hints and tips on how to make moving day a little less stressful.

  1. Be organized.

No matter what I am packing for I always like to make lists before I start to make sure I don’t leave anything behind. In my second year I moved into my house and realized I had taken 2 pairs of jeans 5 pairs of shorts and 2 skirts. I hasn’t planned and pretty much packed whatever. I ended up going home in the week to get more jeans and sweatshirts. It was a complete waste of time and money!

Whenever I plan ahead I know what I am taking, how many I am taking ect so I can see from my list I have everything.

  1. Pack Sensibly.

When you are packing I find it more sensible to pack according to type for example my folders, books and notebooks for all my lectures go in one box, I have box for Pots and pans and other for my undies and socks. This means when I am unpacking I can take the pans straight into the kitchen and put everything away more easily than if I were trying to search for everything.

  1. Don’t stress

This is the one thing I suck at when moving house. Every time I move I want everything to be sorted that day. If I don’t have things sorted out and in a place I feel unorganized, and a little over whelmed. You have the whole of freshers week to get sorted before you have to start university; it’s plenty of time.

  1. Use the Professionals!

The longer you are at university to more stuff you collect. Last year I brought a number of organizational things, decorative things and I almost brought a mirror. In the process of trying to sort out your new home you may find yourself buying new bits and pieces that you need.

This can mean that you can’t alway fit everything into your parents car. I have heard a lot of people who have said that in the 2nd and 3rd years they have to take more things either meaning they have to take multiple trips to university from home or hire a rental company.

Companies such as Ecomovers will help you move from home to university and back. They even provide storage facilities for people who don’t want to move everything back home over the summer!

5)Get sociable!

No matter weather it is your first year or your final year you need to spend time with your new housemates! Don’t forget to go out and have fun!! You want to make sure your year starts off really well after all you have a year with these people! Don’t annoy them.

  1. Have fun!

Fresher week is always fun so just relax. Don’t worry about moving, if you forget something it’s not the end of world.

Hope you have a great move!

Image

p.s. This blog was created in association with Ecomovers. All opinions are my own. http://www.ecomovers.co.uk/removal-services/student-removals

My Confessions!

-I am going on holiday this time next week.

-I have just had my nails done

-I am going to a wedding this weekend (pictures will be on the blog!)

2 thoughts on “6 top tips for moving into a student house

  1. Great advice Lauren, it can be such hard work moving but if you are prepared it can be so much easier! I know a lot of my uni friends that use self storage over the summer to stop them having to cart all of their belongings home and back to uni again, totally worth it to make life that little bit easier.

Leave a Reply

