Gluten, what have you done to me?

Image

Over the past few days I have been battling with my body, after an wheat indulgent weekend partly at university and at home, I woke up on Monday morning with a heavily pregnant looking stomach.

I am not the best person at judging my own body, I always feel like I look really big at the moment. However with my summer dress on, thanks to the good weather, while I was shopping a very kind sales man asked me “When are you due?” After that a few friends and family members agreed that I did in fact look pregnant.

I have had problems with my stomach for year; at school I was ill quiet often due in horrendous stomach pains. Earlier this year I was tested for Coeliac disease due to a bloated stomach and pains. Although I was told I had not got the disease (although the test is not very accurate) my doctor told me that I was likely to have a gluten intolerance. My pain went away and I have to say I kind of ignored what the doctor said, until this week.

After eating a lot of gluten over the weekend, at least a lot for me, and then having a swollen stomach I think that I should go gluten free for a while. Along with this I am also booking in to see a woman who tests for allergies and helps create a diet suited to your life style and illness.

This is a new journey for me, one which I hope to keep you up to date with.

Over the last few days I have tried a number of gluten-free substitute foods; Pasta, bread and pancakes. As well as realising how many thing have gluten in them!

A uni Confession

  • I have finished my second year at university! That’s so scary.
  • I have gained a voluntary job in PR.
  • The next blog post will be a requested post about the career masterclass.
One thought on “Gluten, what have you done to me?

  1. If you enjoy cooking, going gluten-free is a delight. I’ll be happy to help if you have questions, the gluten-free diet is a bit of a passion of mine. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

