Matalan Review

Hey guys. Sorry I have been away for so long! It has been manic in my life! I will explain all soon. Meanwhile enjoy this review 

If you follow me on facebook or Instagram then you may have seen my talk about a new review. Well It is finally here!

A couple of months ago I got an email asking if I would be interested in reviewing some things from the Matalan students range, and of course, I jumped at the chance. I hadn’t really heard anything about the range before, I am not sure how long it has been around but I certainly didn’t know anyone who got stuff from there when I moved into halls.

I really enjoyed searching through their site and looking at the students items. They have some great deals on necessities, but also some great all round stuff. So this is what I got.

Reem Tea Towel- £1.50 (currently 2 for £2)reem

When I heard about the review my boyfriend and I started searching the website and he loved this tea towel. I think the ‘reem’ reminded him of our friend who went to a different uni this year. The towel is made out of proper tea towel material, Cotton I think, not the toweling sort that sheds on all of your plates. It is relatively thin but does its jobs well and makes a funky addition to the kitchen.

Oven Gloves – Not currently available

This is one of the most over looked uni item ever! You never think you need oven gloves, but after one too many burn you will love them. I think the black and white flower pattern on them is great, although very girly and not very colorful. They seem  to standup to heat well. Although ours have a few marks on them the patten hides any marks. Overall I think these are great, and a really useful thing to have in the kitchen (we have 2!)

Towel Bale– £10.00

I have to say that if you have a friend who is going away to uni, or possibly moving into their own home, then this would be a great gift. Bundled together with a matching ribbon the different sized towels look really pretty. I chose the Aqua blue because I think the bright color can bring life to even the dreariest uni bathroom. The bale contains two wash clothes (or Flannels, depending what you call them.) two hand towels and two bath towels. This is perfect for uni because you are likely to have friends to stay and you don’t want to share a towel. (also Wash one, use one is big at uni!) The bath towels aren’t huge, but thats because I am used to bath sheets (the huge ones) but they are really nice. The material is not too thick so I don’t feel too weighed down and they are great for you hair! Overall I love this set, they give you everything you need and they are super cheap.

Candle– £3.00 candle

Candles are one of those non-essential things I was talking about in the intro, as well as that they are also something you are most likely not allowed in uni halls. However one of the things I was looking forward to this year was my candle! This candle is a very bright almost christmasy color and smells amazing. It is a Warm Spiced Apple scent, and I really think that its a true description of the smell and MY GOSH! I love the smell! I have to say this came in very useful when I lost light in my bathroom and was great for relaxing me when I my essay was due in.

Mug- £1

As the days have got colder I have been more and more attracted to warm drinks. So I decided I wanted to try out a Matalan mug. I have to say It is a really nice mug. I got it in Purple, (matching the dinner set you can read about next.) I think it is a good size and looks great. For £1 can you really go wrong?

Dining set– £12.00

I always feel like your dining set is one of the biggest thing you need at university. You can live without a lot of kitchen stuff but you will need something to eat off. Unless you plan to eat out every night. This set is a great value, you get 4 large plates, 4 bowls and 4 side plates. This is a great number if you have friends stay over as well as meaning that you don’t have to do the washing up every time you eat. Mine is in purple, matching with my mug and I think it looks really good in my draw as it adds a nice touch of colour.

basketNylon Basket– £5.00

Looking at this basket on the website, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it. However I wanted to try it out to see if it was any good. It feels quiet plastic-y but looks like a wicker woven basket, just in fun colours. This material is great for holding clothes or food as you can wipe down the basket if anything is spilt on it. I have found that this is the best basket for my laundry. It is the perfect size for a load of washing in an average washing machine and the wet clothes doesn’t stain or ruin the fabric, so I can use it to carry wet washing.

Although the items reviewed in this post were sent to me by the company, Matalan, all the opinions expressed in the post are completely my own. Matalan have had no input into what has been said in the review, they have simply provided me with the products to review.

Talk to you soon!

Love lauren blog sign off

Leave a Reply

