Making your food budget stretch!

I know, I’ve been gone forever!

The past week or so has been a bit of a stress-fest for me; I have had essays due in, as well as a few issues with my house so I have really struggled to post anything, and I have felt so bad about that!

Anyway, I am back today with an tips post. I thought I would share with you my tips on how to make your food budget stretch further.

How many meals do you need?

I know this sounds like a weird thing to say but if you sit down and look at your calendar, what days are you in university for lunch time? Are there any reasons you will be eating out or round at someone else’s house? I plan to eat in every night and have lunch at home most days with only 1 or 2 brought meals. Working out what meals you are going to eat means you can plan better.

Make a plan.

Leading on from the last point, once you have worked out when you are going to be making food try and plan the food. Planning ahead can mean you are going to have less product wastage. If you have a chicken pasta on monday you could do a chicken curry later in the week using up the left over chicken. It is normally cheaper to buy one big thing than a couple of little ones so think of how many ingredients you can use more than once.

Lunch!

I know how easy it can be to go into university with a bit of money and have grab some food from the canteen. In the winter it can also warm you up. However buying food is much more expensive than cooking yourself. I know I said earlier to think about lunch, but if you are in for lunch everyday then think about a packet lunch for some of the days. I tend to buy food as a ‘well done’ for getting through the week or a hard part of the week.

Frozen veggies

Although I love having fresh fruit and veggies in my house, it is so much easier to have a bag of frozen vegetables in the freezer to just whip out when you need it. I have a bag of mixed vegitables and its lasting forever! (And goes with everything!)

What time is it!

(Is it really sad that I want to shout “Summer time!” from high school musical now? Please don’t run away!)

Most cities nowadays have 24 hour supermarkets or at least ones that are open until stupidly early, and us students need to take advantage of that. Who else goes shopping at 2am?

I am not suggesting that you go on your food shop just after you have been on a night out because I am pretty sure alcohol and food shopping don’t go together to make a cheap shop. However if you go late at night there tends to be a number of great things in the clearance section. Because of laws over sell by dates the shops will put a huge discount on a product the day of its sell by date. It is still perfectly fine to eat and in fact should be for at least a few days however they can’t legally sell it after the sell by date has gone!

Shop and Freeze.

One of the things that I tend to do is buy loads of products and then freeze them. It means your weekly shop doesn’t have to be weekly and you still have good food. When I am putting away my shopping I take all my meat/ fish products out of their packaging and wrap them in foil in meal sized portions. This means I don’t have to try and break the ice to get the amount I need.

I think this is everything I can think of right now, I am super tired so I am sorry about any mistakes on this post I just wanted to talk to you again!

Talk to you soon.

One thought on “Making your food budget stretch!

  1. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me lunch because I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about this matter here
    on your web site.

Leave a Reply

