Moving in: The review

Moving in year two: The Review

At the end of last year I did a number of posts reviewing the year I had, when I came to writing all of the posts I struggled to remember the way I felt and the little details.

So this year I decided that I would write a few review posts as I went through the year. So this is my first one: moving in!

Over the summer I had become slightly addicted to organizational things. So I started planning my move to uni a few months before I had to go, I am not saying a spent everyday sorting out moving. In fact a lot of the work was because I decided to create a household binder and a recipe book to take to uni with me.

I am going to be doing a post about both of my binders at another time.

I always feel really bad when I move out because it always falls a few days before my Mum’s birthday. This meant that the friday evening I spent with my mum and stepdad celebrating her birthday. This was really nice as it was a sort of birthday/ going away meal with my family.

I woke up early on the saturday morning so that I could finnish getting everything ready. I packed the last few things I needed, and made sure I had enough time to pack the car.

I was running around the house, packing, dressing and moving long before the rest of the house emerged from their room. Once he emerged from his room my stepdad managed to become some kind of tetris wizard and fitted all of my stuff into the car. I still don’t know how it fitted.

It doesn’t take long for us to drive from my home to university, although the drive felt like forever that day. Once I turned up in my university town I had to head towards the estate agents to pick up my keys.

I have to say been given 3 keys has never felt so much fun, so grown up. As we drove through the maze like roads to my new house I felt the excitement building. As we pulled up in my road I looked at all of the houses, there pretty blues doors made it feel a little bit like a disney village. The builders quickly killed that thought with the constant banging.

I opened the door and walked through the house looking at my home for the next year. I walked into my bedroom, the first floor front of the house.

I have to say that as I started to unpack I felt so overwhelmed. Looking around the room and seeing all of my belongings and the room it has to fit into. My new house has such little storage space. There aren’t any shelves so working out where everything goes is actually really hard.

I have to admit that I am still moving in properly.

My boyfriend, Chris, moved in a few hours later than me, not long after my parents left. Seeing him again and knowing her was staying here was so much fun. I will happily admit that I missed his over the holidays. We each spent the day trying to sort out our own rooms.

That evening we got a takeaway and finally got to spend time together.

Sorry I don’t think this has been my best post but it has been one of those days. Hope you enjoyed anyway!

Leave a Reply

