Year one review: Moving in

This blog post comes with a slight disclaimer, no it doens’t contain sexual content, however it does contain information about drunken behaviour. Freshers week is a little blurry in my mind so this post may not always make sense. Hope you enjoy though. Image

The morning of the 24th September 2011 will always be a memorable one, its the day I left my family home and moved into my university halls. I remember packing up all my belongings I wanted to take. It turns out I didn’t take enough clothes but I guess I had to go there to work it out.

Packing everything into the car, we could barely fit my family and my belongings. Once we had completed the tetras game of getting everything into the car we started to drive away.

Slowly pulling out of the drive at my house, it seemed so strange to watch my house get smaller the same way it always had done, but this was so different. I wouldn’t be returning to the home. My Mum would come back the next day and carry on living her life while I was living else where.

Opening the door to my flat the new key and fob in my hand I was met by a long corridor 7 doors came off it. The first room on the right, E, that was mine. The corridor was filled with peoples belongings, everyone was trying to fit their life into a small room. The room in which a new life would begin.

After I had moved everything in, although not everything in place, my Mum and step dad left. They were staying in hotel in the center of town, it meant that they were close for my first night. If anything went wrong then they could help me, they were my safety net. Once they have left I went into the kitchen where some of my flat mates and some other people were playing drinking games. Some of the other people turned out to be my closest friend during the following year. After a number of drinking games we all decided it was time to get ready for going out.

Getting ready felt like the sort of thing you would see in a film. We had music playing in our corridor from one of my flat mates room. Three of us were running in and out of our room running into the kitchen to make our Pot Noodles. (Not the best idea for day 1 going drinking!)

While we were getting ready there was a knock at the door. I think I will always remember this moment. I was doing my makeup, Hannah was getting ready and Abi was on the phone. Abi was the one to answer the door, as I was next to the door I could hear the voices of a big group.

I walked out of my room to see the doorway filled with a group of guys. I didn’t know it at the time, but one of those guys. The one at the back, dark brown hair and a cheeky smile on his face. He wasn’t the first guy I saw in the group but by the end of the year, I would be dating him, in fact by the end of the year I would be in love with that guy.

Leave a Reply

