The TV Rules

weheartit.com

When your at university although you only go to lessons a couple of hours a day, much less than school or sixth form. Although you have loads of work to do outside of your lectures you also need to be able to relax.

One good way to just slob out and relax (that doesn’t give you a headache the next day) is to watch television. I found that putting the TV on was great while I was doing other things. Cooking and cleaning is just a little more interesting when 2 broke girls is on! So I thought I would share with you all the information you need to know about watching tv at uni.

DISCLAIMER: All the information written on the posts is true to my knowledge and at the time of posting. This is based on the laws within the United Kingdom so if you are studying abroad or live in a different country then the rules may differ.

Television licensing

Through my course I have learnt so much about the television licensing but I will try to keep this simple and to the point.

At home your parents most likely pay a license fee to allow you to watch television, however at university, especially living in halls most people decide not to pay.

In the most basic terms once you have paid you for your TV license you are allowed to watch any tv as much as you want. Obviously other charges can apply such as paying for cable. The TV license goes to paying for BBC channels as these do not take money from advertisers.

So if you have a television with the capability to watch tv you need to pay for a license. Having the capability means that it is plugged into an arial and is tuned to channels. If you have a TV that is only used to watch DVD’s then you do not have to pay for the license as you are not watching tv although you will have to prove this.

How can you watch tv without a license

I am sure I could find a million illegal ways for you to watch tv but I am not suggesting any of them as, of course, you could get into trouble! However there are ways for you to watch television at university without paying extra money for a license.

You can watch TV for free if you don’t watch it live. Watching websites such as IPlayer, 4OD and more are available for you to watch while you are at university.

Some very weird rules!

From what I have researched I have found out that you can watch channels such as SKYGo on your laptop without a tv license if it isn’t plugged into the wall. So if you watch it of your computer battery you are fine!

A warning!

If you are staying in halls then you are likely to hear from the tv licensing people a lot (Just letters) Because people at university don’t pay for a license and in todays society with so many people having tv’s the expect you to have one. So you have to go online, or phone them, to tell them that you don’t have a tv.

I told them we didn’t have a TV and we kept getting the letters. I think each person needs to tell them if you have locks on your doors.

You will get a number of letters telling you you need to tell them if you have a tv and buy a license. As time goes by the warnings get stronger and they start to take ‘legal action’ and you are under investigation. However if you don’t have a tv or can’t watch live tv on it then you don’t have to worry.

Although it could be easier to just go online and tell them you don’t have a tv!

Good luck and I hope you still get to watch your fave shows.

A quick note:

I know I have said this a number of times but I am really sorry about the delays I have had over the past week. I have been going through a lot of problems and I didn’t have the energy to look after this blog. I am back though and sending my love back to my blog!

Lauren x

One thought on “The TV Rules

Leave a Reply

