Time to wash

When you move away to university you have to learn new skills and learn them quickly. One of the things I didn’t think about having to learn was how to clean my clothes. I quickly learnt I had 3 options. I could learn to do it myself, get a boyfriend/ girlfriend to do it (that’s what my boyfriend did!) or make my Mommy do it. So I learnt how to do it, it was pretty damn easy.

So I thought I would help you share my uni washing tips! The washing machines is university halls are often bigger than the traditional washing machine you would find at home. You are also likely to have to pay  to use them, it was £2:20-£2:40 in my halls.

My washing machine

What you will need:

Dirty clothes

Washing powder/tablets

Washing machine

Money

Step One:

The first thing you need to do is separate your washing. The easiest way to do that is by having separate laundry bags; one for colors, one for whites and one for delicates. However if you don’t do that you can separate them before you put them into the washing machine.

Step Two:

Once you have put your clothes into the washing machine then you need to add your washing powder/ tablet. Read the information on the packaging of your chosen product as they can all differ. I like using bold, it has a nice smell and seems to do well washing my clothes. 

Step Three:

You need to decide what setting you should put it on. I would suggest always putting it on 30 degrees. As it cleans your clothes while being better for the environment!

Step Four:

Start the washing machine and walk away! Don’t forget to check what time you need come back. It’s really annoying if people leave it for ages!

Step Five:

Once the washing has finished you either need to put it in a tumble dryer (More money) or air dry it on a clothes horse.

Now you have lovely clean clothes!

Leave a Reply

