Freshers Week

Freshers week is famous with all uni goers and more, but this blog will help you survive it and have fun.

Tip one- move in at the right time

This tip might seem strange because there are obvious times to move in but how will they help you enjoy freshers week? You want to try and move into your flat on the same day as everyone or at least before. My flat all moved in on saturday apart from one person who moved in the next day. Although a day seems like nothing, in the world of freshers it seemed like forever. I felt like i was best friends with some of my flat mates before the final girl had even moved in. So when she got there we were all close, had jokes about the night before and she knew nothing about them.

Tip two- Open the door
I have to admit my flat almost didn’t follow this rule but lucky we did. When anyone knocks on your flat door open it and welcome them in. While we were getting ready to go to out for the night. We had a knock on our flat door; me and one of my flat mates opened the door to a large group of guys. They tried to convince us they knew one of our flat mates and she invited us, and I hate to say that as they didn’t know her name and were very drunk we almost closed the door on them. Lucky we didn’t and one of those guys just happens to be my boyfriend

Tip three- become friends
Make sure you try to become friends with your flat mates. You will be living for at least a year and they are perfectly situated to be there whenever you need them. If your flat mates aren’t around or you already know you hate them move right along! Why not go to the flat across the corridor and become friends with them? Or do as my flatmate and take to facebook; everytime she had a free moment she would go on facebook and find someone in our halls to meet up with.

Tip four-search facebook before you arrive
There are so many things to do before you get to your halls on the first day, however a few of them will help you feel settled in before you get there. One of these is facebook; try searching for groups related to your course, halls or just uni if you have to. I had a group for my halls freshers of 2011, where we could all start talking before we even arrived. We also managed to make posts on our course and moving in times and who was in what flat. This meant i could see some of my flatmates before I arrived! Hello facebook stalking!

Tip five- make a list and check it twice
If its good enough for Santa its good enough for me! Before you go to uni make sure you know what you need to take and that you actually take it. I ended up forgetting my paperwork. It wasn’t a nightmare but I spent a week working out what I needed to do from a text.

Tip 6- Don’t get everything
Ok. So I may be going against what I have said before but you don’t need everything that uni tells you. My book list was at least 5 books long when I actually only need 2 books. The rest I read random chapters from and could easily borrow from the library. My boyfriend managed until the last term to get his, although its not recommended.

Tip 7- Freshers week is in the day aswell!

The boys at my uni seemed to forget that freshers week was also used to enroll onto our courses, meet our lecturers and on my course do some practice writing! I would highly recommend going to these as I made some great friends this week.

So there are my hints and tips for freshers week. I hope they help and leave your tips for others to read.
x

Leave a Reply

